Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



We cast a shadow : a novel / Maurice Carlos Ruffin.

Available copies

  • 15 of 15 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Bridgeport Public Library.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Burroughs-Saden Main - Bridgeport FIC RUFFIN (Text to phone) 34000081441552 Adult New Fiction Available -
North Branch - Bridgeport FIC RUFFIN (Text to phone) 34000081441560 Adult Fiction Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: African Americans > Southern States > Fiction.
Fathers and sons > Southern States > Fiction.
Surgery, Plastic > Southern States > Fiction.
Racism > Southern States > Fiction.
Dystopias > Fiction.
Genre: Dystopian fiction.
Loading...

Additional Resources