Catalog

Many libraries have temporarily modified their hours and services at this time. Please contact your local library or check their website for details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 7 of 9 copies available at Bibliomation.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Bridgeport Public Library. (Show)
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Black Rock Branch - Bridgeport MYS GINSBURG (Text to phone) 34000148001084 Adult New Fiction Available -
Burroughs-Saden Main - Bridgeport MYS GINSBURG (Text to phone) 34000148001076 Adult New Fiction Available -
Milford Public Library GINSBURG Melissa (Text to phone) 34013150189937 Adult New Fiction Checked out 06/22/2021
New Milford Public Library MYS GINSB (Text to phone) 34021139514794 Adult Lease Available -
Oxford Public Library FIC GIN (Text to phone) 33530147500083 Adult New Fiction Available -
Seymour Public Library MYS F GINSBURG (Text to phone) 34043148344039 Adult New Mystery Available -
Silas Bronson Library - Waterbury FIC GINSBURG, M (Text to phone) 34005150451283 Adult New Fiction Available -
Stafford Library FIC GINSBURG (Text to phone) 34061148764311 Adult New Fiction Available -
Thomaston Public Library FIC GINSBURG (Text to phone) 34020146431067 Adult New Fiction Checked out 06/24/2021

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "For fans of Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman, Melissa Ginsburg's The House Uptown is an emotional coming-of-age novel about a young girl who goes to live with her eccentric grandmother in New Orleans after the death of her mother. Ava, 14 years old and totally on her own, has still not fully processed her mother's death when she finds herself on a train heading to New Orleans, going to stay with Lane, her grandmother whom she's never met. Lane is a well-known artist in the New Orleans art scene. She spends most of her days in a pot-smoke haze, sipping iced coffee, and working on the mural that has been her singular focus for years. Her grip on reality is shaky at best, but her work provides a comfort. Ava's arrival unsettles Lane. The girl bears an uncanny resemblance to her daughter, whom she was estranged from before her death. Now her presence is dredging up painful and disturbing memories, which forces Lane to retreat even further into her own mind. Ava, meanwhile, is entranced and frightened by her grandmother. She wants to be included in her eccentric life, but can't quite navigate Lane's tempestuous moods. Attempting to keep the peace is Oliver, Lane's assistant and confidant. As this unlikely trio attempts to find their way and form a bond, the oppressive heat and history of New Orleans bears down on them, forcing them to a reckoning none of them is ready for"--
Subject: Teenage girls Fiction
Parents Death Fiction
Grandmothers Fiction
Artists Fiction
New Orleans (La.) Fiction
Genre: Bildungsromans.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Mystery fiction.
Loading...

Additional Resources